Wakhura, Mutiva, Naise among Magharibi Awards hockey Nominees

Wakhura, Mutiva, Naise  among Magharibi Awards hockey Nominees
Photo courtesy of Magongo Kenya

Wakhura, Mutiva, Naise among Magharibi Awards hockey Nominees

The 2017 Magharibi Michezo Awards list of hockey nominees has been released ahead of the 5th edition of the annual awards ceremony to be held on 23rd December.

Headlining some of the finest players in the Kenya hockey league, the 2017 edition  promises to be an exciting battle  as  the best are expected to be feted during a ceremony that also celebrates community coaches who have played key roles in developing talents from the  rich region.

In the most promising category, Wayne Kipkorir and Samatha Simiyu from Musingu and St Cecilia Girls high School Misikhu have been tipped to be among the finalists in a category that has mostly been picked from high school performers.

In the male player of the year category, last year’s winners Constant Wakahura and Flavian Mutiva have made it to the nomination once again due to an impressive season in 2017. Mutiva will be up against 2014 Female player of the year, Pauline Naise who made a remarkable comeback this season with 19 goals so far.

The Magharibi Michezo Awards (MMA) sets out to appreciate and award sports men and women from Western region who have shown exemplary performance in the various sports.

Most promising Male

Wayne Kipkorir (Musingu)

Gilbert Okanga (Kakamega)

Paul Navagi (Musingu)

Brian Onditi (Musingu)

Dave Makori (KU)

Kennedy Munialo

Alpha Mutsambi

Danstone Wabwire

Most promising Female

Samantha Simiyu-St Cecilia

Damaris Nduta-Tigoi.

Purity Odinga-St Cecilia.

Phanice Sikhoya- Kituni Secondary School.

Valentine Menjesa- Mukumu Girls.

Player of the Year – Male

Constant Wakhura – Butali

Francis Esikuri – Nairobi Sikh

George Mutira – Chase Sailors

Allan Inungu – Nairobi Sikh

Maxwell Wakhungu – Butali

Kennedy Munialo –

Alpha Mutsambi – Strathmore

Chris Wokila – Greensharks

Victor Osiche – Greensharks

Player of the Year – Female

Pauline Naise – Chase Amira

Sandra Vodoti – USIU-A

Charity Juma – Vikings

Flavian Mutiva – Telkom

Ndombela Sikwata – Sliders.