Timbe returns as Migne makes for additions to squad

Timbe returns as Migne makes for additions to squad

Having completed his three-match suspension, China based winger Ayub Timbe has returned to the national team squad after head coach Sebastien Migne named a squad of 30 to start preparations for next month’s African Cup of Nations Qualifier against Sierra Leone in Nairobi.

It is still uncertain whether or not Sierra Leone will play the match as they are still under FIFA sanctions for government interference, but FKF do not want to take chances and will prepare the team in the eventuality their ban is lifted.

Migne has meanwhile maintained the same squad that won against Ghana and Ethiopia in Nairobi and apart from Timbe, there are three new inclusions. Masud Juma who also played the away game to Sierra Leone returns.

Migne has also included two England based players in the squad, striker Jonah Ayunga who turns out for Sutton United and Braintree Town midfielder Henry Ochieng.

Tottenham Hotspur midfielder Victor Wanyama will once again skipper the squad as Kenya looks to book a place in the African Cup of Nations for the first time since 2014.

Apart from the game against Sierra Leone, which is yet to be confirmed by CAF, Stars have also lined up one friendly match for the FIFA friendly window stretching from November 12-20.

Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers: Patrick Matasi (St Georges, Ethiopia), Farouk Shikalo (Bandari, Kenya), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya)

Defenders: Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC, Zambia), Brian Mandela (Maritzburg United, South Africa), David Ochieng (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Abud Omar (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Erick Ouma (Vasalund, Sweden), Joseph Okumu (Real Monarchs, USA), Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Bernard Ochieng (Vihiga United, Kenya), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia, Kenya)

Midfielders: Ismael Gonzalez (Las Palmas, Spain), Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England), Anthony Akumu (Zesco United, Zambia), Ayub Timbe (Beijing Renhe, China), Johanna Omollo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Eric Johanna (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Paul Were (FC Kaisar, Kazakhstan), Henry Ochieng (Braintree Town, England), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Hassan Abdallah (Bandari, Kenya), Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United, Kenya), Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka, Kenya)

Forwards: Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Jonah Ayunga (Sutton United, England), Masud Juma (Aj Fujairah, UAE), Ovella Ochieng (Vasalund, Sweden), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz, Kenya), Piston Mutamba (Sofapaka, Kenya).

Read more on : Harambee Stars

Recommended to you