Several KPL clubs snub FKF Shield

Several KPL clubs snub FKF Shield

Tusker among KPL clubs that snubbed 2019 FKF Shield Cup

File Photo / FKF President Nick Mwendwa in a previous Shield Cup draw

A total of 10 Kenyan Premier League teams have not registered for this year’s Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Shield with a low number of only 31 registering for the cup competition that kicks off on March 16.

Four-time champions Tusker FC had earlier registered but pulled out in the last minute with club chairman Daniel Aduda said they have opted to concentrate on their league campaign.

Tusker had been pooled to play against third tier side Naivas FC but the latter have now earned a free ticket to the round of 16.

“It was not an easy decision to make but we want to help the team concentrate on the league. We have a target of winning the title and want to focus on that,” Tusker FC chairman Aduda told the official club website.

Defending champions Kariobangi Sharks will start their campaign against lowly Elim FC while last year’s finalists Sofapaka FC kick off their bid for a fourth title against Bungoma Super Stars.

“Cup competitions are usually tough no matter who you have been pooled against. We will give our best but this is also a good opportunity to give all our players an opportunity to show their worth. We have a chance to win a trophy and we will give our best,” Sofapaka coach John Baraza says.

Gor Mahia who have been unlucky in the Cup competition having failed to win since 2012 will look for a better return this year and start their campaign against Kenpoly FC while AFC Leopards start their campaign away to Transfoc.

Full round of 32 Draw

Fortune Sacco vs Wazito, Uprising vs Western Stima, Kenpoly vs Gor Mahia, Kayo FC vs Bandari, Congo Boys vs Kenya Police, Emmausians vs Mwatate United, Naivas vs Tusker, SS Asad vs Ulinzi Stars, Bungoma Super Stars vs Sofapaka, Transfoc vs AFC Leopards, Muranga Seal vs Kisumu All Stars, Elim FC vs Kariobangi Sharks, Trans Mara Sugar vs Bidco United, Dero FC vs FC Talanta, Vihiga Sportiff vs Ushuru, Sindo United vs KCB

Read more on : Kpl

Recommended to you