Ongori, Koech win Kisii half marathon

Ongori, Koech win Kisii half marathon

Ongori, Koech win Kisii half marathon

Philes Ongori crosses the finishing line to win the Safaricom Kisii half marathon women category. The 31 years old athlete clocked 76.05.00 ahead of Joy Kemuma who finished in 76.06.11.

Former half marathon silver medalist Philes Ongori from Kisii and  Joseph Koech from Nyamira are the winners of the 2017 Safaricom Kisii Half Marathon held in Kisii on Friday.

Ongori took the lead in the women category to win in a time of1:16:05 followed very closely by Joy Kemuma at 1:16:06 with Teresia Omosa closing the top three in a time of 1:17:12.

In the men category, Joseph Koech swept victory with a time of  1: 04:39 followed by Edwin Mokua at 1:05:18 and Leitich Kipyegon at 1:05:28 in 2nd and 3rd places respectively.

“ I did not expect to win this race because humidity was high and the course was also a bit tough due to the hills. I thank God that I managed to beat my competitors and  I am also grateful that I had prepared well for the marathon “ said Philes Ongori.

Over 300 athletes took part in the race which was flagged off from Gusii stadium.

The top three winners men and women took home Kshs 100,000,  Kshs 70,000 and Kshs 30,000 respectively.

The Safaricom Kisii Half Marathon has produced international athletes such as De’Clerk Omari, Wesley Ochoro, Ruth Bosibori, Edwin Mokua and Grace Momanyi among others.

The race took place concurrently with a medical camp organized by Safaricom Foundation to offer free medical services to residents of Kisii town and the environs.

Safaricom sponsorsed the Kisii marathon  with one million shillings under the Safaricom Athletics Series banner

Top 10 male winners

1.    Joseph Koech- 1:04:39

2.    Edwin Mokua-  1:05:18

3.    Kipyegon Leitich- 1:05:28

4.    Evans Mayaka- 1:05:34

5.    Joel Meli- 1:05:36

6.    Dennis Koech- 1:05:41

7.    Jacob Mutai-1:05:54

8.    Meshack Makendo-1:06:41

9.    Declerk Omari-1:06:50

10. Daniel Kayiok-1:06:51

Top 10 female winners

1.    Philes Ongori- 1:16:05

2.    Joy Kemuma- 1:16:06

3.    Teresiah Omosa- 1:17:12

4.    Lonah Nyabochoa-1:19:56

5.    Doris Monda- 1:22:03

6.    Yunes Onyancha- 1:23 16

7.    Nancy Chepkirui- 1:23:28

8.    Mercy Ondieki- 1:23:44

9.    Linet Mokaya- 1:27:05

10. Lydya Ogwankwa- 1:28:0

Read more on : Athletics

Recommended to you