Mbaaru wins 5th Lewa Marathon title as Lodepa is dethroned

Mbaaru wins 5th Lewa Marathon title as Lodepa is dethroned

Philemon Mbaaru and Margaret Pepesi are the champions of the 18th edition of the annual Safaricom Lewa Marathon held  at the Lewa Conservancy on Saturday.

This was Mbaaru's 5th title as he crowned his mastery of the unique course  with a time of 2:22.18 and 150,000 shillings cash prize.

Mbaaru , himself a 2014 Casablanca Marathon winner finished ahead of close challenger Daniel Mbogo who was second with a time of  2:22.53. John Mureithi was third  in 2:25:42

In the women's race , Fridah Lodepa's hope of clinching a record 5th title were smashed as she was dethroned by Iten based Margaret Pepesi.

Making her debut appearance at the race , Pepesi set the day ablaze with a fine finish set up by her husband who supported her to the 35th Kilometer mark  as her pace maker.

Pepesi clocked 2:38:48 to beat Naomi Nduta (2:49:29)  into second place  while 4 time champion Fridah Lodepa placed third with 2:54:53



1.Philemon Mbaaru 2:22:18

2.Daniel Mbogo 2:22:53

3.John Mureithi 2:25:42

4.Samuel Njuguna 2:25:43

5 Titus Kurgat 2:26:38



1 Margret Pepesi Lepekana 2:38:48

2.Naomi Njeri Nduta 2:49:29

3.Fridah Lodepa 2:54:53

4.Jane Mbogo 2:55:49

5 Risper Chelagat 2:59:48

Read more on : Athletics

Recommended to you