Magharibi Michezo Awards Volleyball nominees unveiled

Magharibi Michezo Awards Volleyball nominees unveiled

Magharibi Michezo Awards Volleyball nominees unveiled

Prisons Kenya Middle Blocker, Edith Wisa alongside her Kenya Pipeline counterpart, Triza Atuka lead the 2017 Magharibi Michezo Awards women's volleyball nominee list.

The annual Award is open to players who have either grown, studied or nurtured  their talents in the  Western region of Kenya this being, Bungoma, Busia, Kakamega, Trans Nzoia  and Vihiga Counties.

The fifth edition of the event is set for December 23 in Bungoma town.

Wisa, a former Lugulu Girls captain was instrumental in Malkia Strikers’ second-place finish at the 2017 CAVB Africa Nations Championship and qualifying for the 2018 FIVB World Championship to be held in Japan.

2016 Magharibi Michezo Awards overall Sports Woman of the year winner Atuka, will offer strong competition for the Award.

Other candidates for the category are former national team and Kenya Prisons captain, Braxcides Agala who has been inspirational for both club and country.

The young and upcoming setter Veronica Tanui, who featured for both Kenya Pipeline and national junior women's side to the FIVB U23 World Championships in Slovenia, has also made it to the list.

Kenya Ports Authority's libero Sam Juma joins the strong list of 'Male Player of the Year' which is dominated by reigning champions Prisons Kenya and former holders General Service Unit.

Unlike the women’s category where middle blockers dominated the list, the men’s race is spread across the court.

The reigning Kenyan Volleyball Federation (KVF) Player of the Year, Jairus Bett Kipkosgei has earned his second consecutive nomination.

But he should expect strong opposition from GSU duo of Boniffentry Mukekhe and Brian Meli, and Juma who made his national team debut last July during the CAVB Zone V World Championship Qualifiers in Rwanda.

Nominees for 'Most promising players of the Year' (male and female) have been drawn from schools. Malava, Butula and Mang'ana schools dominate the boys' list, whereas Lugulu, Mukumu and Kolanya High Schools donated the girls' nominees.

Men nominees:
Sam Juma -KPL
Jairus Bett-Kenya Prisons
Mike Chemos-Kenya Prisons
Hudson Chesoli-Kenya Prisons
Kelvin Maiyo-Kenya Prisons
Gideon Tarus-GSU
Bonventry Wekesa-GSU
Brain Melly-GSU
Elija Riro-Nairobi Water

Women nominees
Triza Atuka-Kenya Pipeline
Violet Makuto-Kenya Pipeline
Edith Wisa-Kenya Prisons
Everlyn Asiko-Nairobi Water
Leoonida Kasaya-Kenya Pipeline
Praxcides Agala-Kenya priosns
Salome Wanjala-KCB
Agripina Kundu-Kenya Pipeline
Noel Murambi-Kenya Pipeline
Ann Lowem-Kenya Prisosn
Veronica Tanui-kenya Pipeline

Most Promising Nominees

Emmanuel Kipkosgei-Malava Boys
Enock Kiptum-Malava Boys
Levis Ouma-Butula Boys
Levis Kimtai-Malava Boys
Kevin Wanyama-Mang'ana Boys

Laurine Adongo-Mukumu Girls
Elizabeth Muyuka-Mukumu
Stella Kawon-Lugulu Girls
Marion Indeche-Lugulu Girls
Trista-Kolanya Girls

Read more on : Volleyball

Recommended to you