How North Africa has won 38 back-to-back Africa crowns

How North Africa has won 38 back-to-back Africa crowns

No club out of North Africa has ever won the men's volleyball club championships.

File Photo courtesy of CAVB

As the 38th edition of the Africa men volleyball  club championships commence in Cairo Egypt on Monday , it is now a chase for other regions to break the long running record that has seen the competition's crown only won by Clubs  from North Africa.

Unlike the women competition that was previously dominated by Kenyan clubs  where Kenya Pipeline held six previous crowns and Kenyan Prisons having dominated the stage for five years, the men's competition has proved to be very elusive for the non Northerners.

Kenya Prisons men team came close in 2011 having reached the finals  where they faced Al Ahly while GSU finished 4th last year having lost in the  semi finals.

This year 23 teams have confirmed participation in the competition and have been drawn in four pools.Playing at home,defending champions Al Ahly of Egypt hold a record 13 titles and  will be out to bag their 14th crown.

In the women's competition that ended last Monday , Al Ahly of Egypt tenth historic title after they outclassed their archrivals Carthage of Tunisia 3-1 (21-25, 25-15, 25-11, 25-19) in the final.

Here are the previous Men winners since 1980.

Previous champions
1980 Ahly (Egypt) 
1983 Ahly (Egypt) 
1984 Zamalek (Egypt) 
1985 CS Sfax (Tunisia) 
1986 CS Sfax (Tunisia) 
1987 Zamalek (Egypt) 
1988 Mouloudia (Algeria) 
1989 CS Sfax (Tunisia) 
1990 Nasr Hussein Day (Algeria) 
1991 Club Africain (Tunisia) 
1992 Club Africain (Tunisia) 
1993 Club Africain (Tunisia) 
1994 Espérance (Tunisia) 
1995 Ahly (Egypt) 
1996 Ahly (Egypt) 
1997 Ahly (Egypt) 
1998 Espérance (Tunisia) 
1999 CS Sfax (Tunisia) 
2000 Espérance (Tunisia) 
2001 Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia) 
2002 Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia) 
2003 Ahly (Egypt) 
2004 Ahly (Egypt) 
2005 Sfax (Tunisia)
2006 Ahly (Egypt)
2007 Mouloudia (Algeria)
2008 Zamalek (Egypt)
2009 Zamalek (Egypt)
2010 Ahly (Egypt)
2011 Ahly (Egypt)
2012 Zamalek (Egypt)
2013 Sfax (Tunisia )
2014 Esperance (Tunisia) 
2015 Ahly (Egypt)
2016 Al Guish (Egypt)
2017 Ahly (Egypt)
2018 Ahly (Egypt)

Ahly (Egypt) 13
CS Sfax (Tunisia) 6 
Zamalek (Egypt) 5 
Espérance (Tunisia) 4 
Club Africaine (Tunisia) 3 
Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia) 2 
Mouloudia (Algeria) 2 
Nasr Hussein Day (Algeria) 1
Al Guish (Egypt) 1

Read more on : Volleyball

Recommended to you