Choices for Kenyans as NTV gets FIFA World Cup rights

Choices for Kenyans as NTV gets FIFA World Cup rights

NTV Kenya joins DSTV and StarTimes in acquiring rights to broadcast the FIFA 2018 World Cup matches live

The 2018 FIFA World Cup kicks off from 14th June to 15th July in Russia with the hosts taking on Saudi Arabia in the opening match.

Kenyan fans will be treated to array of choices on where to view the match live. On Thursday, Free to Air broadcaster NTV announced they have sealed a partnership with Kwese Free Sports on the broadcast rights for the FIFA 2018 World Cup and will air 32 matches live.


— Nation Media Group (@NationMediaGrp) May 10, 2018

Apart from NTV, pay Channels DSTV and GoTv have been heavily marketing their World Cup package. They will stream 64 matches live on SuperSport plus two channels History of Football and SuperSport 14 (SS14) also dedicated to legacy content, highlights, documentaries, FIFA films, classic matches, warm-up matches.

Star Times will also show all the 64 matches the matches live. Three channels World Football (HD), Sports Premium (HD), Spots Arena (HD), Sports Focus and Sports Life will provide crisp HD pictures with two more on SD quality.

For those with access, beIN will also offer an all HD Summer package for the FIFA World Cup.

A total of 32 countiers will participate in the 2018 FIFA World Cup.64 matches will be played in 12 venues located in 11 cities. The final will take place on 15 July at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow.The official match ball of the 2018 World Cup is called "Telstar 18".

Brazil remains the country that has won the most World Cups  with five trophies in the cabinet (1958,1962,1970,1994,200) followed by Italy at four (1934,1938,1982,2006) and Germany (1954,1974,1990,2014). Uruguay (1930,1950) and Argentina (1978,1986) follow with two cups each

Antonio Carbajal, Lothar Matthaeus and Gianluigi Buffon have made the most World Cup appearances each appearing five times.

World CUp 2018 Groups

Group A: Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay
Group B: Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran
Group C: France, Australia, Peru, Denmark
Group D: Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria
Group E: Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia
Group F: Germany, Mexico, Sweden, South Korea
Group G: Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England
Group H: Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan

Read more on : CECAFA Women

Recommended to you