2030 World Cup - Who will earn the hosting rights?

2030 World Cup - Who will earn the hosting rights?

FIFA is set to make the decision in 2024 at the 74th FIFA Congress after a two-year vetting process.

The 2022 Qatar World Cup is still taking place but that has not prevented other nations from bidding for the hosting rights of the 2030 World Cup. 

According to the FIFA rules, the 2030 World Cup cannot be held in Asia (Asian Football Confederation - AFC) or in North America (Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football - CONCAF) due to the 2022 and 2026 World Cups taking place in Qatar and USA, Canada and Mexico respectively. 

The bidding was officially opened in the second quarter of 2022. 

FIFA is set to make the decision in 2024 at the 74th FIFA Congress after a two-year vetting process.

There are nations that have already expressed their interest in hosting the 2030 World Cup including:

South America - Uruguay, Argentina, Paraguay, Chile

The South American Nations in Uruguay and Argentina were the first to bid for the 2030 World Cup back in July 2017, during a Copa America tournament. 

In October 2017, it was announced that Paraguay will join the bid. Later in 2019, it was announced that Chile will also join the bid. 

It is now the first ever four-nation bid that has been submitted and if accepted, will be the first ever four-nation World Cup host. 

This South American bid stands the highest chance due to having sentimental and monumental value. 

Uruguay hosted the first ever World Cup back in 1930. On the 100th anniversary of the tournament, which will be in 2030, it is definitely logical to award the bid to the first ever nation to host it. 


Morocco, was 2nd in ranking for the 2026 World Cup after the USA, Mexico and Canada joint-bid. 

Morocco has now bid to host the World Cup five times and if accepted, will be the second African country to bid the global showcase.

The Arab Nation has made its intention clear by setting aside more than $16 billion to spend in building the necessary infrastructure to host the tournament. 

Egypt, Algeria and Tunisia have been mentioned to possibly join the bid if necessary. 

Spain, Portugal and Ukraine

Spain and Portugal have submitted a bid that had been named ‘Iberian Bid’ in reference to the Iberian Peninsula where both nations are located. It will be the third time that both nations bid for hosting the World Cup after being unsuccessful in 2018 and 2022.

Spain and Portugal later announced that Ukraine will be joining their joint-bid after the World Cup format was changed to 48 teams from 32 teams. Ukraine is set to host one group game thus hosting three countries. 

Spain is the leading host nation in the joint-bid with 11 venues selected to host the matches. Portugal has 3 venues selected and Ukraine has one venue selected. 

Questions on the logical nature of this joint bid have arisen with Ukraine situated geographically far from both Spain and Portugal. It has been questioned whether the inclusion of Ukraine is politically motivated. 

Speaking to the media after the bid was submitted, Luis Rubiales, Royal Spanish Football Federation President, said that it was now a ‘European bid’. 

“Our bid is not an Iberian bid anymore, it’s a European bid. 

“I’m convinced that now our bid is much better than before. Football is universal and if it is capable of changing the life of people in so many ways it should also be used for doing well,” he said.

Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Greece

According to FIFA rules, Saudi Arabia, which belongs to the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) is ineligible to host the 2030 World Cup due to the 2022 World Cup being hosted by Qatar, which belongs to the confederation. 

However, Saudi stands a chance if it joins with a country legible to host the tournament thus a joint-bid with Egypt and Greece. 

If this bid goes through, it will be the third major sport tournament held in Saudi during that period, after the Asian Winter Games in 2029 and several high-profile boxing matches scheduled for then. 

Other Likely Bidding Nations

In October 2021, an Israeli bid was confirmed to be under consideration with Israel, a member of UEFA and UAE and Bahrain, both members of the Asian Football Confederation, having a joint-bid. 

Columbia, Ecuador and Peru had also expressed interest in bidding for the 2030 World Cup but are yet to submit a bid.