Kisumu based Jaspreet Chatthe wins 2015 Safari Rally

Kisumu based Jaspreet Chatthe wins 2015 Safari Rally

Kisumu based Jaspreet Chatthe wins 2015 Safari Rally

Kisumu based Jaspreet Singh Chatthe is the new Champion of the Kenyan Safari Rally. The 35 year old finished the race 13 seconds ahead of former Champion and close challenger Ian Duncan who finished in second place.

Chatthe, navigated by Gugu Panesar in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution, took command immediately after the retirement of favorite Finnish driver Tapio Laukkanen who dropped out of the race after breaking his rear trailing arm at the Loldiaga stage. He was knocked out following a service error which saw his crew fail to arrive at the Loldaiga remote service in time.

Tapio had been tipped as the favorite having taken commanding leads on Friday and Saturday where he enjoyed over three minutes lead ahead of the rest.

With the win, Chatthe earns himself the title of the fourth “Flying Singh” after the legendary Joginder Singh, Sarbi Rai and Baldev Chager who won two back to back Safaris in 2013 and 2014.

This was Chatthe’s third career win after clinching ARC round of Tanzania and Nanyuki Rally last year.

Ian Duncan came second while Carl “Flash” Tundo in a Proton Neo Satria S2000 settled for third position.  Fourth was Chager who failed in his attempt to clinch a hattrick of wins. Fifth position went to Manvir Baryan in a Ford Fiesta R5 which is the newest make to make way onto Kenyan stages.


1.Jaspreet Chatthe/Gurdeep Panesar /Mitsubishi Evolution 10) 3:22.32
2. Ian Duncan/Amaar Slatch /Mitsubishi Evolution 10) 3:23.25

3. Carl Tundo/ Tim Jessop / Proton Neo Satria s2000) 3:24.28

4. Baldev Chager/Ravi Soni /Mitsubishi Evolution 10) 3:24.54
5. Manvir Baryan/Drew Sturrock (Ford Fiesta R5) 3:27.34

6. Rajbir Rai/Dale Furniss (Ford Fiesta) 3:32.05

7. Jas Mangat/Cedric Buzabo /Mitsubishi Evolution) 3:43.41

8. Amaanraj Rai/Gregory Stead (EVOX) 3:44.03

9. Onkar Rai/Gareth Dawe / Mitsubishi Evolution 10) 3:46.17
10. AlastairCavenagh/Gavin Laurence /Porsche 911) 3:46.25
11- Azar Anwar/ Julius Ngige /Mitsubishi Evolution 8) 3:49.39
12. Asad Khan/ Mwangi Kioni /Subaru Impreza N10) 3:50.16

13. Dennis Mwenda /Job Njiru /Mitsubishi Evolution 9) 3:52.01

14. Mahesh Halai/ Ketan Halai /Subaru Impreza) 3:53.50

15.  Frank Tundo/Mike Borissow /Mitsubishi Evolution 9) 3:57.57

16. Murage waigwa/Tuta Mionki (Subaru GC8) 3:58.32

17. James Kirimi/Evans Mwenda (GC8) 3:59.10

18.  Karan Patel/Tauseef Khan /Mitsubishi Evolution 10) 4:01.33
19. Stephano Rocca/TBA /Datsun 280Z) 4:01.59

20. Taiti Wachira/Mutuma Marimba /Mitsubishi Evolution 6) 4:08.45

21. Eric Bengi/Tony Gikuhi /Toyota Runx) 4:10.43

Read more on : Motorsport

Recommended to you