Simiyu out - Ashioya and Nyambu in as Ayimba names squad

Simiyu out - Ashioya and Nyambu in as Ayimba names squad

Simiyu out - Ashioya and Nyambu in as Ayimba names squad

Benedict Nyambu of Nondescript and quins winger Sydney Ashioya make a comeback to the national rugby sevens team as Innocent Simiyu’s injury denies him an opportunity to shine in front of his home fans. Innocent is the only exclusion from the main 7’s team which has been under immense pressure lately due to their unexpected results in their last two outings of the IRB 7’s series in London and Edinburgh. Ashy and Ben Nyambu’s come back is attributed to their impressive performances during this year’s Bamburi rugby super series.

While releasing the names of the two teams, Coach Benjamin Ayimba reiterated that his team is well aware of the immense pressure under which they have to perform and is not ready to change the team he has worked hard enough to build for years. He pleaded with the fans to be patient with the team and promised a clean defending of the title.

Kenya have been seeded with Les Blues of  France, Zambia and Samurai while Shujaa which shall be coached by Ayimba’s deputy Felix Ochieng have been seeded in pool c alongside Argentina ,Zimbabwe and Gronoble.

This year’s sevens championship is being sponsored by Kenya’s leading mobile phone provider Safaricom after Tusker the previous title sponsors withdrew their allegiance from Kenya’s top performing team sport after over 12 years of partnership.

Safaricom through their arm Safaricom foundation have also put up a new fans ramp which shall be purely alcohol free and shall be dedicated for families and non alcoholics. In the past a good number of fans have opted to stay away from the event due to the over indulgence of alcohol by fans making the event not suitable for family attendance and religious rugby rugby fans.

The tournament will also be graced by curtain raising matches on Friday with schools, veterans and the women’s rugby matches.

Main team:
Collins Injera (Mwamba), Lavin Asego (Mwamba); Gibson Weru (Nakuru), Victor Sudi (Quins), Leon Adongo (Quins), Humphrey Kayange [captain, Mwamba), Sidney Ashioya (Quins), Dennis Mwanja (KCB), Brian Nyikuli (Impala), Benedict Nyambu (Nondies), Horace Otieno (Mwamba), Biko Adema (Nondies),

George Odhiambo (physio)
Benjamin Ayimba (coach)
Oscar Osir (manager)
Geoffrey Kimani (sprint coach)

Shujaa Team:
Wilson Kopondo (Machine), Andrew Amonde (KCB), Dennis Muhanji (Quins), Patrice Agunda (Quins), Allan Onyango (Quins), Peter Abuoga (Quins), Naftali Bondo (Quins), Ken Isindu (KCB), Oscar Ouma (Nakuru), Vincent Mose (Impala), Nato Simiyu (Impala), Charles Kanyi (Nondies),

Newton Ongalo (manager)
Felix Ochieng’ (coach)
Chris Makachia (physio)