Prize money introduced for FKF Cup winners

Prize money introduced for FKF Cup winners
Gor Mahia lifting last year's trophy

Prize money introduced for FKF Cup winners

Football Kenya Federation will for the first time introduce prize money for the first three finishers in the FKF Cup. Previously, the tournament never had a fixed prize money for the winners and they depended on well wishers to scoop in something for the winners.

However this year, the winners will be getting 1.5 Million Kenya Shillings in prize money as well as an additional 500,000 to help the team prepare for the continental assignments. The second team will earn itself 750,000 shillings while for the first time, the losing semi finalists will battle it out in a third and fourth play-off match with the winner getting 500,000 shillings.

There will also be a shift in the sharing of the proceeds from the gate collections in FKF Cup matches. The away teams will be getting more of the money. 45% of the gate collections will be given to the away team while the home teams will benefit only 35% of the entire gate collection. The remaining percentage will go to the federation.

Also, Kenyan Premier League teams will not be subjected to the first round as they have been given a bye. So far, seven KPL teams have confirmed their participation. They are led by defending Champions Gor Mahia and last year’s finalists Sofapaka. Ulinzi Stars will field two teams in the tournament, the main team as well as their reserve team Ulinzi Warriors.

Other KPL Clubs that will participate are; Kenyan Premier League Champions Tusker FC, AFC Leopards, Thika United and Muhoroni Youth

Nakumatt, Comply, Nakuru All Stars, Nzoia United, West Kenya, Moyas, Talanta and KRA are the Division one clubs which have confirmed participation. Others are; Borabu Chiefs, Raiply, Kenyatta National Hospital, Kisumu Hunters and University of Nairobi.

The deadline for registration is the 30th of May while the draw and the unveiling of the new sponsors will be tentatively done on the 6th of June.