Fifa Ballon d'Or nominees revealed

Fifa Ballon d'Or nominees revealed

Fifa Ballon d'Or nominees revealed

Lionel Messi could become the first footballer to win the Men’s FIFA  Ballon d'Or award three times in a row after he was nominated alongside top challenger-Real Madrid and Portuguese forward-Cristiano Ronaldo for the 2012 awards.

The list of 23 players includes five English Premier League nominees. Manchester City has Yaya Toure, Mario Balotelli and Sergio Aguero while Manchester United has Wayne Rooney and former Arsenal captain Robin van Persie. Former Chelsea hit man Didier Drogba also made the list.

Messi has won the last two awards after the Ballon D'Or (European Footballer of the Year) was merged with the FIFA World Footballer of the Year in 2010.He also won the last edition of  FIFA World Footballer of the Year.

Vicente del Bosque , Roberto Mancini and  José Mourinho ,Alex  Ferguson  and  Pep Guardiola are in contention for the  FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football 2012

National team captains, coaches and a number of journalists will cast their votes and after tallying the top three will be revealed on November 29.The overall winner will be known on January 7, 2013.

Players list (source

Sergio Agüero (Argentina), Xabi Alonso (Spain),Mario Balotelli (Italy), Karim Benzema (France), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Sergio Busquets (Spain), Iker Casillas (Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Didier Drogba (Côte d’Ivoire), Radamel Falcao (Colombia), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden), Andrés Iniesta (Spain), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Manuel Neuer (Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Mesut Özil (Germany), Gerard Piqué (Spain), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Sergio Ramos (Spain), Wayne Rooney (England), Yaya Touré (Côte d’Ivoire), Robin van Persie (Netherlands), Xavi (Spain).

Coaches list (source

Vicente del Bosque (Spain/Spain national team), Roberto Di Matteo (Italy/Chelsea FC), Alex Ferguson (Scotland/Manchester United FC), Pep Guardiola (Spain/FC Barcelona former coach), Jupp Heynckes (Germany/FC Bayern München), Jürgen Klopp (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Joachim Löw (Germany/Germany national team), Roberto Mancini (Italy/Manchester City FC), José Mourinho (Portugal/Real Madrid CF), Cesare Prandelli (Italy/Italy national team). 

Read more on : Columnists

Recommended to you