Sunday, May 24, 2015

Saina who was felled by Legei

Presidential escort captain new Kenya Open Rifle Champion

 Updated on 10/06/13  |    By AMOS ABUGA


Edward Legei of the Presidential Escort Unit is the new Kenya Open Target Rifle Champion as the 75th   edition of the championships came to a close at the Stony Athi Rafle Range on Sunday.

The sniper  who is also the captain of the Presidential Escort Unit exhibited high shooting technique hitting the target on a number of occasions even beating two time champion and immediate champion Christopher Saina in the last event which involved the 1km range.

Saina was leading in the three stages before he was defeated by Legei in the final and determining stage to see a new champion born. Legei garnered 645 points against Saina’s 641.

There was however surprise in the third position as the Farilya Mohammed came in third as the only woman to make it to the top ten. She managed 622 points.

The 47 year old Legei noted he expected the championships to be tough and thrilling as shooters had  been training for it.

“From yesterday I felt I might get something good given my progress in the competition. The windy season with the hot and dry range conditions didn’t however hinder my brilliant performance.” He observed.

12 teams took part in the Kenya Open Shooting championships. They included Defence Forces Rifle Association, GSU, PEU, CID, KWS, ASTU, KRRC, KAPU, Railway Police,  KPC, Central /Eastern Province  and Machakos County Rifle Club.

The event was also being used to as a training forum for the 24 marksmen to represent the country at the annual UK Bisley championship from July -15th.

The team that was released by the Kenya Regiment Rifle Club on Sunday will go for one month training at Stoni Athi to prepare for the international assignment.

Like our Facebook Page MICHEZOAFRIKA or follow us on Twitter for latest sports updates.

Gor Mahia3022 60
Sofapaka3022 57
Tusker3016 53
Ulinzi Stars3012 51
Chemelil Sugar308 48
AFC Leopards3010 44
Muhoroni Youth30-4 40
Thika United30-1 39
Sony Sugar302 38
Mathare United30-6 38

Complete Standings