Volleyball wins big as Yego bags Overall SOYA title

Volleyball wins big as Yego bags Overall SOYA title

Volleyball wins big as Yego bags Overall SOYA title

World Javelin champion Julius Yego was the Star of the day on Friday as he was crowned the Sports Personality of the year during the 12th edition of the annual Safaricom SOYA awards ceremony held at the KICC in Nairobi.

The outstanding self trained Yego took home two awards as the best male athlete of the year and the Overall personality of the year  to crown his successful 2015 season that saw him win  the Javelin World Championships in Beijing China , the first gold in a field event for Kenya at the highest stage in the world.

It was however the  national women volleyball team that walked home with the biggest share of the trophies on the night as the national women's teams (A & B) scooped the top two  slots of the  best women team of the year.

 Kenya Volleyball Federation was named as the best federation of the year , coach David Lung'aho being named the best coach of the year while former national team player Ednah Rotich scooped the community coach of the year award.

 National team attacker Mercy Moim who is currently based in Finland came second in the  women athlete of the year that was won by athlete Hyvin Kiyeng..


Overall Sports Personality of the Year:
Julius "YouTube" Yego

Sportsman of the Year
1. Julius Yego (Javelin)
2. Asbel Kiprop (Athletics)
3. Geoffrey Kamworor (Athletics)

Sportswoman of the Year
1. Hyvin Kiyeng (Athletics)
2. Mercy Moim (Volleyball)
3. Florence Kiplagat (Athletics)

Sports Team of the Year Men
1. Gor Mahia (Football)
2. National Hockey Team
3. National 15s (Rugby)

Sports Team of the Year Women
1. National Senior Volleyball team
2. National under 23 Volleyball Team
3. Telkom Orange

Evergreen Sports Personality of the Year
Ezekiel Kemboi

School Team of the Year Boys
1. Laiser Hill Academy (Rugby)
2. Narok Boys' High School (Hockey)
3. St Peter's Chesarikwa (Volleyball)

School Team of the Year Girls
1. Sinyolo (Hockey)
2. AIC Kosirai (Volleyball)
3. Trans Nzoia Mixed (Hockey)

School Coach of the Year
Kelvin Lugalia  of St Anthony's, Kitale (Hockey)

Most Outstanding Boy of the Year (Schools Category)

David Paristero, Ngolani Secondary School (Javelin)

Most Outstanding Girl of the Year (Schools category)
Judy Nkatha, Shadrack Kimalel (Tennis)

Lawrence Buyachi (Rugby)

Sportsman with Disability
1. Onesmus Mutinda (Athletics)
2. Alex Komen (Athletics)
3. David Korir (Athletics)

Sportswoman with Disability
1. Susan Gatwiri (Athletics)
2. Cecilia Mwangi
3. Hellen Wawira (Power Lifting)

Most Promising Boy
Kumari Taki (Athletics)

Most Promising Girl
Agnes Tirop (Athletics)

Outstanding Performance
Nicholas Bett (Athletics)

Sports Federation
1. Kenya Volleyball Federation (KVF)
2. Kenya Rowing and Canoeing
3. Amateur Boxing Association of Kenya (ABA)

Coach of the Year
David Lungaho (Volleyball)

Community Hero
Edna Rotich

Hall of Fame Inductee
Violet Barasa (Volleyball)
Brian Hawkins (Shooting)
John Mucheru (Golf)

Read more on : Commentary

Recommended to you