Kiprop, Naktar win 2017 Imenti Road Race

Kiprop, Naktar win 2017 Imenti Road Race

Kiprop, Naktar win 2017 Imenti Road Race

Athletes on course during the 11th edition of Safaricom Imenti South 15km Road Race that started from Igoji to Nkubu stadium.

Stephen Kiprop and Miriam Naktar are the winners of this year’s edition of the Safaricom Imenti Road race held in Meru this weekend.

With 48:12.7, Kiprop emerged victorious in the 15KM race beating Nandi’s Emmanuel Bor    (48:58.9) and Alexander Mutiso from Makueni (49:16.2.)

Posting 57:47.2, Miriam Naktar beat top road race athlete Pauline Njeru to second place. Njeru posted 58:01.6 to finish second ahead of Margaret Wangari from Mombasa (58:11.2.)

Women winner Naktar while speaking after the race said, “I thank God for today’s win. The vigorous training I’ve been doing in Embu has enabled me win this race, winning this race after attaining fourth position in Ndakaini is fulfilling. I’m hoping to participate in Europe next year.”

Winners walked away with cash prizes of Kshs. 100,000, second category Kshs. 50,000, third category Kshs. 25,000. Whilst best local athlete walked away with Kshs. 20,000, second position Kshs. 10,000, third position Kshs. 7,000.


1.    Stephen Kiprop- 48:12.7

2.    Emmanuel Bor- 48:58.9

3.    Alexander Mutiso -49:16.2

4.    Jackson Mwema- 49:23.3

5.    Isaac Kipkoech- 49:53.6


1.    Erick Muthomi- 53:55.5

2.    David Koech- 54:16.8

3.    Timothy Kinoti-55:33.3


1.    Miriam Naktar- 57:47.2

2.    Polline Njeru- 58:01.6

3.    Margaret Wangari - 58:11.2

4.    Hellen Jepkurgat- 58:35.6

5.    Lucy Kabuu- 58:37.6

6.    Mary Anne Wangari- 58:43.2

7.    Josephine Wambui- 59:09.0

8.    Mary Munanu- 59:28.3

9.    Margaret Muringe- 59:37.4

10. Shelmith Muriuki- 1:00.2


1.    MaryAnn Wangari-58:43.12

2.    Jacinta Mbaoni- 1:10.01

3.    Betty Murungi-1:10.28

Read more on : Athletics

Recommended to you