Kioni retains seat, Sirma, Makokha ousted as KVF hold elections

Kioni retains seat, Sirma, Makokha ousted as KVF  hold elections

Waithaka Kioni has been re elected as the Kenya Volleyball Federation President following the national elections held During the Annual General Meeting held in Nairobi.

Photo: Newly elected KVF President Waithaka Kioni

Waithaka Kioni has been re-elected  as the Kenya Volleyball Federation boss following national   elections held on Saturday n Nairobi during the Federation’s Annual General Meeting.

Kioni  who was overwhelmingly voted in  with 68 votes against Martin Ochieng’s 26 votes will be deputised by Charles Naybei as first Vice Chairman and Kenya Prisons team manager David Kilundo  as he second Vice Chairman.

Nyaberi ousted Martin Makokha  after garnering 66 votes against Makokha’s 30 votes while David Kilundo edged out Kipkemoi Sirma in one of the hotly contested posts. Kilundo  beat Sirma by four votes having managed 40 votes against Sirma’s 36.

The polls also saw the return of Nairobi’s Moses Mbuthia  who was given the responsibility of becoming the new assistant Treasurer to support Kenneth Tonui.

Former Kenya international and national junior team head coach Catherine Mabwi successfully defended her deputy Secretary General seat with 74 votes against Samuel Gacharira 21 while Ismail Chege also retained his seat as Organizing Secretary.


President: Waithaka Kioni

First vice-chairman: Charles Nyaberi

Second vice-chairman: David Kilundo

Vice-chairperson (gender): Mududa Waweru

Secretary general: Ben Juma

Secretary: Ismail Chege

Deputy secretary general: Catherine Mabwi

Deputy organising secretary: John Oronje

Treasurer: Kenneth Tonui

Assistant Treasurer: Moses Mbuthia

Committee members: Joseph Kosgei, Alfred Chedotum, Emily Mbotela

Read more on : Volleyball

Recommended to you