Kamworor leads Kenya’s World Half Marathon team to Valencia

Kamworor leads Kenya’s World Half Marathon team to Valencia

Kamworor leads Kenya’s World Half Marathon team to Valencia

Photo /IAAF

Two-time champion Geoffrey Kamworor and World Record Holder Joyceline Jepkosgei will lead the Kenyan team out on Wednesday evening as they depart for Saturday’s World Half Marathon championship in Valencia, Spain.

Kamworor who will be gunning for his third consecutive title is confident the team will deliver success for Kenya once again, just like they did in 2016 when he led Bedan Kariuki to a one-two finish, flooring Briton Mo Farah.

“We have prepared well and the confidence is that we will do well. The competition will be stiff especially from the Ethiopians but as a team we can sustain any pressure,” Kamworor who also won his first ever marathon in New York said.

Kamworor will once again pair up with Karoki with the team also involving world cross country silver medalist Leonard Barsoton, two-time Eldoret Family Bank 21km winner Jorum Okombo as well as Barselius Kipyego, the Usti and Labem half marathon winner in Czech Republic last year.

The men’s team should also expect competition from the United States who have three Kenyans who are naturalized Americans in their squad.

The team will be led by two-time world champion, veteran Bernard Lagat, national champion Leonard Korir and Samuel Chelanga.

With last year’s women’s champion Peres Jepchirchir not available to defend her title, the weight of expectation will be on world record holder over 21km and 10km Jepchirchir to deliver a podium sweep for Kenya once again.

Mary Wacera, the silver medallist in 2014 and bronze medallist in 2016, will be vying for her third successive podium finish. Fancy Chemutai and Ruth Chepngetich, both of whom made big breakthroughs last year, are also on the team, along with Japan-based Pauline Kaveke.


Men: Leonard Barsoton, Geoffrey Kamworor, Bedan Karoki, Barselius Kipyego, Jorum Okombo.

Women: Fancy Chemutai, Ruth Chepngetich, Joyciline Jepkosgei, Pauline Kaveke, Mary Wacera.

Read more on : Athletics

Recommended to you