Chager wins Kisumu Rally as Tapio stumbles in Chemelil mud

Chager wins Kisumu Rally as Tapio stumbles in Chemelil mud

Chager wins Kisumu Rally as Tapio stumbles in Chemelil mud

Photo courtesy

Baldev Singh Chager navigated by Ravi Soni In a Group N Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution10 ended 18 years of waiting when he racked up his second career KCB Kisumu Rally title in the wet and muddy terrain around Chemelil region.

This was Chager's first win in Kisumu since 1998 when the "Flying Singh" made his Kenya National Rally Championship debut in awesome fashion.

Chager had his 2016 campaign effectively sewn up when six times former National champion Ian Duncan retired halfway through due to medical reasons. Duncan was leading the pack prior to his poor health condition.

Rajbir Rai, son of the legendary Sarbi Rai,, romped home second incidentally 14 seconds behind the winner in a Ford Fiesta R5. 

Manvir Baryan, also in a Ford Fiesta R5, completed the podium dash  32 seconds behind the winner.

Chager, who was the fastest through the repeat run of Kobonyo-Mberere stage, was all smiles after victory and this is what he had to say:"This were perhaps the toughest conditions we have seen in a long time. Organizers had to cancel two stages because of adverse weather conditions and later compelled to reroute and rerun some stretches. It was very rough and the rocks in there proved quite unforgiving at some point. "

Ian Duncan's navigator Amaar Slatch said: "Ian has not been feeling for the past couple  of days with diarrhea and vomiting being the major problems. The medic have checked him at the park and advised for good rest. His blood pressure is also not good. We didn't want to risk it. Rallies come and go but our health remains paramount."

Tapio finished in an unfamiliar 14th place due to multiple punctures and engine problems.

Defending KNRC champion Jassi Chatthe finished 22nd overall position after stopping in the first stage for more than 20 minutes and picking up a punture on the repeat run.

Out of the 28 cars which started the Equator Motor Club organized round only four (Sammy Nyorri, Duncan, Dinesh Sachania and Farhaaz Khan) failed to master the wet and rough conditions.

Prevailing wet conditions saw organizers cancel Simba and Nucleaus stages and repeated the long Kobonyo stage twice.

Top 10 provisional Results

1. Boldy  Chager  (EVO X) 1:01.00
2. Rajbir Rai (Ford Fiesta R5) 1:01.14
3. Manvir  Baryan (Ford Fiesta R5) 1.01.32
4. Carl Tundo  (Subaru GC8)1:01.38
5. Karan Patel (EVO X) 1:06.50
6. Frank. Tundo (EVO 9) 1:07.30
7. Onkar Rai  (EVOX)1:07.35
8. Izhar  Mirza (EVO9)1:07.45
9. Tejveer Rai ( EVOX) 1:08.14
10. Jansher Sanshu  (EVO9)1:13.01

Read more on : Motorsport

Recommended to you