Bengi, Somen and Devji impress in Kajiado rally

Bengi, Somen and Devji impress in Kajiado rally

Eric Bengi, Jonathan Somen and Kisumu-based Chandrakant Devji impressed in their respective classes, on the season opening KCB Kajiado Rally.

Bengi navigated by Tony Gichohi in a Toyota RunX emerged the winner of the Two Wheel Drive category after beating Sammy Nyorri and defending Champion Leonardo Varese to the podium dash.

Jonathan Somen navigated by Richard Hechle in a Ford Escort MK2 won the Classic car category ahead of Ramesh Vishram and Dinesh Sachania. Somen achieved his classic win after he finished the tour of Kajiado in 12th overall position whilst Bengi managed 13th overall.

Chandrakhant better known as “Chandu” in rallying circles took an lead in KNRC Group S standings after returning his Subaru GC8 in 16th overall position. Notable absentee in the classic car class was veteran Porsche 911 driver Aslam Khan who skipped the event due to personal reasons.

Somen who is a former classic champion was all smiles: “KMSC organised a very good rally and it was very nice to have a new section in there which was excellent. We enjoyed the day and our Ford Escort performed perfectly as always!” said Somen.

Finland'sTapio Laukkanen’s blistering pace stunned all and sundry in the opening round of the Kenya National Rally Championship (KNRC) series. 

Tapio navigated by compatriot Pasi Torma led from start to finish to restrict Ian Duncan and reigning African champion Jassi Chatthe to second and third overall respectively.

The former British and Finland rally champion achieved the feat after clinching three out of four stages around Kajiado, Il-Bissel and Parane.

 And as the dust settled in Kajiado county, the “Flying Finn” savoured an amazing 1.38minutes margin from Duncan with 80% of the time difference achieved on one single stage. Duncan who is a six times Kenya champion beat Chatthe by 39seconds to cement second position in the Kenya Motor Sports Club leg. Fourth overall was former Uganda champion Jas Mangat who incidentally won the 10km Marble-Parane section.

Tapio’s blistering pace in Kajiado stunned the motoring fraternity more so on the long 60km Il-Bissel-Enchoro stage where he trounced Duncan by 1 minute and 30 seconds!

“It was a good day with no major dramas. The car handled really well on all the stages. We attacked the second stage but didn’t expect beating Duncan by such a big margin. This is definitely a good way for us to start the season but the essence as the season progresses will be to look after our car and try to finish as many events as possible,” said Tapio.

Out of the 39 cars which started the, only 13 failed to master the demanding conditions.

Carl Tundo who drove a group S Subaru GC8 retired after completing the CS1-Kajiado Hospital stage with a broken drive shaft.

Other casualties were Issa Amwari, Karan Hussein Malik, Aaakif Virani, Alex lairangim, McRae Kimathi, debutant Josiah Kariuki, Geoff Mayes, Pavit Kenth and Daren Miranda.

Read more on : Motorsport

Recommended to you