'Flying Fin' Tapio cruises to Kajiado rally win

'Flying Fin' Tapio cruises to Kajiado rally win

'Flying Fin' Tapio cruises to Kajiado rally win

Finland’s rallying star Tapio Laukkanen led from start to finish to win the opening round of the Kenya Commercial Bank (KCB) Kenya National Rally Championship (KNRC)  in Kajiado county on Saturday.

The former British and Finland rally champion navigated by compatriot Pasi Torma achieved the feat after clinching three out of four stages around Kajiado, Il-Bissel and Parane.

The “Flying Finn” driving a Subaru Impreza R4 restricted Kenya’s Ian Duncan to second place with a 1.38minutes margin while reigning Kenya and Africa champion Jaspreet Chatthe completed the podium dash in a time of 1h19m59seconds.

Duncan who is a six times Kenya champion beat Chatthe by 39seconds to secure his position in the Kenya Motor Sports Club leg.

Fourth overall was former Uganda champion Jas Mangat who incidentally won the 10km Marble-Parane section.

Tapio’s blistering pace in Kajiado stunned the motoring fraternity more so on the long 60km Il-Bissel-Enchoro stage where he beat Duncan by 1 minute and 30 seconds!

Out of the 39 cars which started the event at the KCB Kajiado branch, only 13 failed to master the demanding conditions.  

Carl Tundo who drove a group S Subaru GC8 retired after CS1-Kajiado Hospital stage with a broken drive shaft. Youngster Karan Patel retired 30kilomiters into the second stage after his clutch pack up.

Menengai Cream sponsored Issa Amwari kissed the event goodbye with drive shaft problems . Other casualties in the rally were Hussein Malik, Aaakif Virani, Alex lairangim, McRae Kimathi, debutant Josiah Kariuki, Geoff Mayes, Pavit Kenth and Daren Miranda.

Tanzania Jamil Khan failed to honour’s much anticipated debut in Kenya after failing to show up at Kajiado start.Safari rally will be the next event over Easter holiday.


1. Tapio Laukkanen (Subaru GVB13) 1.17.42

2. Ian Duncan (Evolution 10) 1:19.20

3. Jaspreet Chatthe (Evolution 10) 1:19.59

4. Jas Mangat (Evolution 10) 1:20.53

5.Manvir Baryan (Ford Fiesta R5) 1:21.18

6. Baldev Chager (Evolution 10)  1:22.01

7. Onkar Rai (Evolution 10) 1:22.27

 8.Rajbir Rai (Ford Fiesta R5) 1:22.43

9. Jasmeet Chana (Evolution 9) 1:26.24

10. Izhar Mirza (Evolution 9) 1:28.45

11. Farhaaz Khan (Evolution 9)1:32.06

12. Jonathan Somen (Ford Escort Mk2) 1:34.21

13. Eric Bengi (Toyota RunX)1:35.15

14. Jansher Sandhu 1:35.39

15. Adil MIrza (Mitsubishi) 1:36.41

16. Chandu Devji (Subaru GC8)1:40.01

17. Sammy Nyorri (Toyota Run X)1:43.33

18. Leo Varese (Toyota Corolla RSI) 1:44.29

19. Ramesh Vishram (Ford Escort Mk2) 1:44.51

20. Rehan Shan (Subaru N10) 1:45.19

21. Gurmeet Thethy (VW Golf Mk3)1:45.20

22. Natasha Tundo (Subaru Impreza N10)1:46.45

23. Imran Khan (Subaru N10) 1:49.11

24. Kimaru Boit (Evolution6) 1:56.16

25. Edward Maina (Subaru Impreza) 2:02.10

26. Dinesh Sachania (Datsun 180B) 2:13.17

Read more on : Motorsport

Recommended to you