Kenya Motor Sport to fete 2013 achievers

Kenya Motor Sport to fete 2013 achievers

Kenya Motor Sport to fete 2013 achievers

Jamseet Chana during 2013 rally/courtesy

The Motor Sport Personality of the year 2013 will be known during the Kenya Motor Sports Federation Annual Awards Ceremony to be held at the Jacaranda Hotel, Nairobi on Saturday, January 25.But the outcome will all depend on a vote that will rightfully ascertain the best motor personality which is part of the merit awards category.

Besides, the occasion will also fete champions of various disciplines and categories.

Among those to be acknowledged for exemplary performance during the past season are National Rally champion Baldev Chager, Rally Raid quads and Autocross 2WD Non Turbo champion Tejas Hirani and the Kenya Nation Enduro overall  champion, Anthony Nielsen who has previously won the Kenya Motor sports personality of the year award twice.

Jassi Singh Chatthe from Kisumu  will be feted for winning the KNRC Division 2 title and so is his Division 3 counterpart Jasmeet Chana. Jassi is incidentally the 2012 Division 3 champion and is looking forward to joining the elite Division 1 league of drivers which is composed of the top ten fastest drivers in the KNRC seeding list.

Jasmeet had a 100% finish record in the 2013 KNRC having finished five of the 8 rallies in the top ten. The 2013 Motocross champions who shall be feted are Ivan Festo Guya (MX2), Rohan Gandhi (MX125), Elias Sherman (MX85), Ethan Nyachae (MX65), Tutu Maina (MX1) and Dekker Kihara (MX50).

For all merit awards, winners will be decided by a dedicated panel that has been working round the clock to ensure the choice of personalities are merited.

Merit awards include the motorsport personality-of- the- year (competitors only), John Ngunjiri Memorial for the most consistent crew, Tanveer Alam Memorial for the most improved rally driver.
Others are the William Kimaru Memorial for the most improved navigator, the Mike Vaughan Ryall Memorial for the Best organized Rally (awarded to a Club), Johny Hellier which is awarded to a non competitor for the contribution to Motorsports, Kulwant Singh Chana Memorial for the motorsports promotion (Media/promoters), most improved Autocross competitor, the Neil Granger Brown Memorial for the Most improved motorcycle rider and the most meritorious lady competitor.

Other awards include champions in motocross, autocross, rallying, cross country and Ennduro.

The 2013 Champions:
Motocross: Mx50-Dekker Kihara; Mx65-Ethan Nyachae; Mx85-Elias Sherman; Mx125-Rohan Ghandhi; Mx2- Ivan Guya; Mx1-Tutu Maina. ENDURO: Anthony Nielsen (overall); Enduro 125-Shivam Vinayak, AUTOCROSS: 2WD Turbo-Amit Pandya, 2WD NON-TURBO-Tejas Hirani, 4WD Turbo-Anish Chauhan.RALLY RAID: Cars driver: Adin Haq; cars navigator: Stuart Cohen; bikes: Sean Wilcock, Quads: Vincent Boulanger, Buggy- Tejas Hirani; KNRC:2WD navigator- Edward Njoroge, 2WD driver-Dennis Mwenda; Classic Car Cup navigator-Jasneil Ghataure, Classic Car Cup driver- Aslam Khan; S/SPV Navigator- Ravi Chana, Group S driver- Jazzy Chana, KNRC Div 3 driver- Jasmeet Chana; KNRC Div 3 navigator- Rohit Bhudia; KNRC Div 2 driver-Jassi Singh Chatthe, KNRC Div 2 navigator- Gugu Panesar; KNRC navigator-Ravi Soni, KNRC driver- Baldev Chager.

Read more on : Motorsport

Recommended to you