Baldev Chager makes mark in Safari Rally

Baldev Chager makes mark in Safari Rally

Baldev Chager makes mark in Safari Rally

MichezoAfrika File Picture

Baldev Singh Chager becomes the first Sikh driver to win the Safari Rally since legendary Joginder Singh Bhachu completed a hat trick of wins in 1976. Chager needed 2.51.03 to win the 2013 edition which went through to the Kajiado environs and ended at the KICC on Sunday afternoon.

The 2008 rally champion Boldy as commonly known grabbed the overnight lead from national defending champion Carl Tundo in a time of 1 hour 17 minutes 41 seconds while Flash clocked 1 hour 20 minutes 24 with Azar Anwar 3rd 4th minutes adrift.

Legendary 1994 WRC Safari Rally winner Ian Duncan bowed out of the race prematurely as he retired on the CS5 end in Konza with gearbox problems. Tundo was the big casuality on Sunday as he dropped out with mechanical problems.

“Winning my first ever Safari rally makes today very special. I came knowing this is the toughest race this year. Safari has always got some surprises up the sleeves. Ian had a problem and Flash got a puncture,” said Chager who won the opening Kajiado Rally in January.

Veteran rally driver Azar Anwar came in second with youngster Quintin Mitchell sealing the podium finish.

1. Baldy Chager 2:51.03
2. Azar Anwar 3:01.09
3. Quentin Mitchell 3:20.36
4. Frank Tundo 3:06.08


Read more on : Motorsport

Recommended to you