All is set for 33rd Guru Nanak Rally

All is set for 33rd Guru Nanak Rally

All is set for 33rd Guru Nanak Rally

File picture

The 33rd edition of the KCB Guru Nanak Rally is set to produce fireworks in Kedong and Suswa territories on the weekend of November 17-18.The prestigious event, first staged in 1973 and won by Vic Preston Sr/Bill Parkinson in a Mercedes Benz 250, is set to culminate the eight-leg 2012 KCB Kenya National Rally Championship (KNRC)  series.

Clerk of the course Surinder Thatthi and Event Director Dali Kalsi have set up a technical route whose stages are synonymous with those of WRC Safari Rally.

This year's Guru Nanak will feature seven competitive stages. CS1 will be a 33kilometer stage preceding the 57kilometer "endurance-test" section which Surinder describes as "very rough and rocky".

This will be followed by the 1kilometer super special and onward into service at Namuchunga near the Satellite Station.

After service-out, cars will then tackle the 28kilometer stage before repeating the super special twice and the 33 kilometre section.

 Surinder said they have resorted to all-weather roads in anticipation of next month's El Nino rains.

"We were unable to use the roads around Kajiado to avoid a similar scenario in the Safari where rains wrecked havoc," said Surinder who is also the one of the World Governing Body, FIA Vice Presidents.

" The 57km stage is a bit rough because we had no suitable roads in Kajiado. All other stages are fine," explained Surinder. This year's Guru Nanak will feature a total of 351kilometers of which 153km is competitive. Guru Nanak comes at a time when most of the 2012 championship titles were sealed during the penultimate KCB Eldoret Rally. 

Carl "Flash" Tundo and his partner Tim Jessop sealed the KNRC drivers and navigators' titles. Kisumu based Jassi Chathe and his co-driver Gugu Panesar also claimed Division 3 titles and so was the Mombasa duo of Nadeem Kana and James Mwangi who bow have the 2WD title in the bag.

The KNRC Division 2 title went down to the wire and it will be interesting to see how Don Smith, Manvir Baryan and Coast Pekee's Izhar Mirza battle it out on home stretch.

The Simba Union organized event renews the rivalry between state-of-the-art Subaru N series contraptions and the high-flying Mitsubishi Lancer Evolutions.Alastair Cavenagh, Tundo and Ian Duncan have dominated the stages on the Mitsubishis much to chagrin of their Subaru adversaries Baldev Chager, Quentin Mitchell and Onkar Singh Rai.

"The Subaru N16 seems to be getting more reliable over time. After plenty of research and thought they are now performing. It’s proven to be very fast on smooth flowing stages but still seems to lack the edge on jumps and extreme rough conditions. This year not many events have favored the N16 as its been rough and full of big jumps," said Chager.

The Monster Energy/Dalbit Petroleum team of 2 times former KNRC  winners Cavenagh and Tundo has proven almost impossible to catch this season having won 6 of the 7 rallies held thus far. Cavenagh has proven that he is the one to catch having set the highest number of fastest stage times.Guru Nanak, an event organized by  the Kenyan Sikh community,  promises to be a thrilling event with Tundo, Duncan and Cavenagh battling for each second on every stage.


1973: Vic Preston Sr/Bill Parkinson (Mercedes Benz 250)
1974: NOT HELD
1975: Mike Hanson/Ian Grant (Mazda 626)
1976: Manjit Panesar/Chaani Panesar (Datsun 1600sss)
1977: NOT HELD
1978: Chris Bates/Belinda Davidson (Colt Lancer)
1979-1983: NOT HELD
1984:Ann Taith/Sylvia King (Opel Ascona 400)
1985: Vic Preston Jnr/John Lyall (Lancia 037)
1986: Ian Duncan/Ian Munro (Opel Manta 400)
1987:   Ian Duncan/Ian Munro (Toyota Celica TCT)
1988:  Ian Duncan/Ian Munro (Subaru Supra)
1989:  Ian Duncan/Ian Munro (Toyota Celica GT4)
1990: Patrick Njiru/Dave Williamson (Subaru Legacy)
1991: Steve Anthony/Paul Valentine (Mazda 323)
1992: Sarbi Rai/Supee Soin (Toyota Celica GT4)
1993: Sarbi Rai/Supee Soin (Toyota Celica GT4)
1994: Tanveer Alam/Mo Verjee (Subaru Impreza)
1995: Ian Duncan/Dave Williamson (Toyota Celica Turbo)
1996: Rob Hellier/ Des Page Morris (Mitsubishi Galant VR4)
1997: Emmanuel Katto/Frank Gitau (Toyota Celica Turbo)
1998: Paul Bailey/Raju Sehmi (Toyota Celice Turbo)
1999: Alastair Cavenagh/ Crispin Sasson (Subaru Impreza)
2000: Ian Duncan/Salim Haji (Toyota Land Cruiser pick Up)
2001: Ian Duncan/Salim Haji (Toyota Land Cruiser pick Up)
2002: Ian Duncan/Salim Haji (Toyota Land Cruiser pick Up)
2003: Ian Duncan/Salim Haji (Toyota Land Cruiser pick Up)
2004: Baldev Chager/Farakh Yusuf (Subaru Impreza)
2005: Riyaz Kurji/Farakh Yusuf (Subaru Impreza)
2006: Ian Duncan/Amaar Slatch (Toyota Hilux pickup)
2007: Ian Duncan/Amaar Slatch (Toyota Hilux pickup)
2008: Lee Rose/Piers Daykin (Mitsubishi EVO9)
2009: Carl Tundo/Tim Jessop (Mitsubishi EVO9)
2010: Carl Tundo/Tim Jessop (Mitsubishi EVO9)
2011: Lee Rose/Piers Daykin (Mitsubishi EVO9)

Read more on : Motorsport

Recommended to you