Thursday, May 28, 2015


Top Sports journalists to be awarded during KPL gala

 Updated on 02/12/11  |    By DENNIS MACHIO


22 Kenyan sports journalists have been nominated to contest for top honors during this years’ KPL FOYA awards to be held on 7th of December 2011 in Nairobi. The best three will be awarded with trophies and cash tokens in the following considered categories: TV journalist of the year, Radio journalist of the year, print journalist of the year and photo journalist of the year.

Radio Jambo’s Diamond Okusimba and Toldo Kuria are back in contention for this year’s awards for the second year in a row. The two were named the best Radio presenters of the year during the 2010 edition of the awards ceremony at the Safari Park Hotel in Nairobi. Paul Mcheshi of Milele fm, Torome Tirike  and Paul Muchiri bothe of Citizen radio were 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Last year’s photographer of the year Stafford Ondego is among the short listed candidates in contention for this year’s award alongside Mohammed Amin of the Nation media group,Kenna Claude of People daily, David Ndolo of The Star and Boniface Okendo of The Standard.

Robin Toskin won last year’s print journalist of the year but is conspicuously missing from this year’s short listed candidates. Gilbert Wandera and James Waindi both from Standard, Isaac Swila of People Daily,Odindo Ayieko- Nation media group and Francis Wadegu are this year’s nominees in the print Journalist of the year category.

The TV category also has new entrants this year as last year’s top three winners: Hassan Juma (KTN), Idris Situma (NTV) and Mike Okinyi (Citizen) are not among the shorlisted.The nominees this year are David Kwalimwa (K24), Bernard Ndong (Citizen Tv), Mahia Mutua (KTN), Tony Kwalanda (K24) and Watson Karuma (NTV).


T.V Journalists of the Year

1Bernard NDONG- Citizen
2 David KWALIMWA-K24
3 Watson KARUMA - NTV
4 Mahia MUTUA- KTN
5 Tony KWALANDA - K24

Photographer of the Year
1 Boniface  OKENDO-  Standard
2 Mohamed AMIN-  Daily Nation
3 David NDOLO-  Star
4 Stafford  ONDEGO- Standard
5 Kenna CLAUDE -People Daily

Print Journalist of the Year
1 Odindo AYIEKO -Daily Nation
2 Francis WADEGU -The Star
3 James WAINDI -Standard
4 Isaac SWILA -People
5 Gilbert WANDERA -Standard

Radio presenters of the Year

1 Ali HASSAN, Steve  MUKANGGAI -Radio Maisha
2 Diamond OKUSIMBA ,Toldo KURIA, William  GATHOKI
-Radio Jambo
3 Joseph Maroa -Milele FM
4 Daniel WAHOME -Metro FM

Like our Facebook Page MICHEZOAFRIKA or follow us on Twitter for latest sports updates.

Gor Mahia3022 60
Sofapaka3022 57
Tusker3016 53
Ulinzi Stars3012 51
Chemelil Sugar308 48
AFC Leopards3010 44
Muhoroni Youth30-4 40
Thika United30-1 39
Sony Sugar302 38
Mathare United30-6 38

Complete Standings