Kelvin Kimani named best player in a colourful FOYA ceremony

Kelvin Kimani named best player in a colourful FOYA ceremony

Kelvin Kimani named best player in a colourful FOYA ceremony

The 2011 KPL FOYA awards held in Nairobi on Wednesday evening marked the end of a successful football season with pomp and color. Mathare United’s sensational midfielder Kelvin Kimani was the man of the day as he walked home with a total of three trophies including the most coveted title of KPL 2011 Best player of the year.

While receiving the top award, Kimani thanked his team mates at Mathare, coach Salim Ali and family for giving him the support throughout the year. He was flanked by his sister Janet Wanja-Kenya’s volleyball player.Kimani was also voted the best midfielder of the year and second best goal scorer with 11 goals.

Stephen Waruru who scored 12 goals received the golden boot award, Pascal Ochieng was named the best defender while Congo United’s Rama Salim walked home with new player of the season.

The event was graced by Sports Minister Dr.Paul Otuoma and his assistant honorable Kabando wa Kabando.Otuoma in his remarks congratulated KPL for a successful season saying the league was run in a professional manner but called on clubs to ensure dignity and calm prevails during all matches condemning pockets of violence witnessed in the stadium during the 2011 season.

“Since the coming of KPL in 2007, football in Kenya has adapted a new face that has witnessed the game grow to admirable standards. We appreciate the efforts put in by KPL in partnership with SuperSport and the government will continue to offer all the needed support.” He said.

Football Kenya Federation chairman Sam Nyamweya also thanked KPL for a good job well done and promised to offer his full support


KPL Player of the year: 1.Kelvin Kimani 2.Charles Okwemba 3. Stephen Waruru

KPL Photo Journalist of the year: 1. Stafford Ondego (Standard) 2. Kena Claude(People) 3.Chris Omolo (Nation)

Chairman's Award: 1. Futa 2. 3. Kenyanstar

TV Journalist of the year: 1. David Kwalimwa 2.Hassan Jumaaaaaaa 3.Mike Okinyi

Radio Station of the year: 1. Radio Jambo 2.Radio Maisha 3.Milele FM

Print Journalist of the year: 1.Gilbert Wandera 2.Isaac Swila 3.James Waindi

Assistant Referee of the year: 1.Aden Marwa 2. Mike Mwangi 3. Jane Cherono

Center referee of the year: 1.Nasur Doka 2.Sylvester Kirwa 3. Davies Omweno

Coach of the year:  1. Sammy Omollo (Tusker), 2.Benjamin Nyangweso (Ulinzi), 3. Francis Kimanzi (Sofapaka)

Team Manager of the year : Jack Gatheru (Karuturi),Nevile Pudo(Tusker),3 Tie between Jack Matanguta (Ulinzi) and Willis Waliaula (Rangers FC)

New player of the year: 1.Rama Salim 2.Dan Serunkuma 3.Eric Okoth

Best Fair Play- team: 1.Rangers FC  2.Ulinzi FC  3.Western Stima

Fair Play : 1.Vincent Nyamberi, 2.David Juma, 3.Anthony Kimani

Top Scorer : 1. Stephen Waruru (Ulinzi) 2. Mike Baraza (AFC Leopards),Hugo Nzangu(Sony Sugar),Clifford Alwanga(KCB) and Kelvin Kimani(Mathare United)

Best Midfielder: 1. Kevin Kimani 2.Charles Okwemba 3.Humprey Mieno

Best Defender: 1 Pascal Ochieng, 2 Eric Masika, 3 Joseph Shikokoti

Best Goalkeeper: 1.Boniface Oluoch,2.Jacktone Odhiambo 3.Lawrence Webo

Read more on : Kpl

Recommended to you